Drunken Disasters and Culinary Masters

A college girl's guide to the best bars in a seaside retreat

Christmas Cocktails

As we all know today is Christmas Eve.  Which means for the next week or so it’s forced family time again.  This morning I stopped in my favorite liquor store, Joe Canals, and they said to me, “it wouldn’t be a holiday if you weren’t here.”  So clearly I’m partial to the use of alcohol to help at these gatherings.

Make sure you have plenty of red and white wine.  It’s really the staple of a holiday gathering.  Who doesn’t love a good wine.  I personally went with 2 bottles of Merlot and a bottle of Pinot Grigio.  I prefer the red to the white for Christmas, little more festive.

Last week I went to a Christmas Party and we had Candy Cane Martinis.  These are definitely required for Christmas parties.  For this we need:

  • 1 1/4 oz vanilla vodka
  • 1 1/4 oz crème de cacao
  • 3/4 oz peppermint schnapps
  • garnish with a peppermint.  I prefer to crush it up and line the rim of my martini glass with it.

I am also obsessed with Poinsettias (not the flower but the cocktail).   A friend of mine made these for me a few years ago and I’ve been in love since.  They are so simple to make.  Champagne – 1/2 triple sec – 3 oz cranberry juice.  That’s all it takes.  They are incredible.

For the guests who are feeling a little bah-hum-bug you can make them a Grinch.  I’ve never had one but believe I’ll try it this year.

  • 2 oz Melon liqueur
  • 1/2 oz lemon juice
  • 1 tsp simple syrup
  • Maraschino Cherry to garnish.

I think they sound delicious and not too alcoholic for those who need to drive home.

Of course it’s not a Christmas party without an Eggnog drink.  This one is called White Christmas.  I usually just put a little whiskey or something in my eggnog but this works too.

4 oz eggnog – 1/2 white chocolate liqueur – 1/2 Southern Comfort – and gold flakes to garnish or chocolate  

And finally Apple Cider Sangria.  Apple Cider and Eggnog are required at any Christmas Party.  And we all know how I love my Sangria.  I find any excuse for Sangria.  This one is so simple.

  • 1 bottle of moscato
  • 1 cup of light rum
  • 1 1/2 cups apple cider
  • 1 cup ginger ale
  • Apple slices for serving.

That is the end of this Christmas cocktail list.  These should certainly help get you through the next week, that is until I tell you about my signature New Years Eve drinks!

Merry Christmas everyone! Be safe and enjoy xoxo

Single Post Navigation

Talk to Me

